Core Beliefs

I am in the process of an often-challenging, but wonderful, bodywork series of structural integration. The last session was core work, prompting the question: “What are my core values and beliefs?”

 Big question. My response was almost immediate and solid — “I am living them.”

And given time after the session to think more on this, I came to the remarkable conclusion that not only was this answer sincere and valid, but to be able to state this so assuredly makes me a very fortunate woman.

 I live a life where my belief in the vital importance of family and being a conscious parent has been exercised daily. This has been a heartfelt path, which has tested me many a time. My strong commitment to work that matters is evident in my 20+ years of working this land and providing clean food for my community. The integrity in the treatment of this property with only organic and sustainable practices is central to my core beliefs. The manner in which I present our cottage rentals and attempt to model for guests an honest and simple lifestyle by activism is surely part of who I am and what I believe in. I have faith that all we do is important, even though we might not see it. The ripple effect is fundamental to how I take on each day, essentially believing that my actions can matter in the world, near and far.

 My life has evolved to this very special place. To be able to actually know that my core beliefs are in action is very satisfying. It also brings up an overwhelming sense of gratitude in me. I will not take this grace for granted. I will continue to pray in whatever fumbling way I can for the continued blessings that allow me to love and live my core beliefs.

 “I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.
I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down
into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass,
how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,
which is what I have been doing all day.
Tell me, what else should I have done?
Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?
Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?”

from The Summer Day by Mary Oliver

entrance to the farm looking toward the mountains

2 Comments on “Core Beliefs

  1. Lee, Thank you for all you are and all you do. You are living the dream alright! We are blessed beyond belief… Thank you Thank you Thank you spills over this grateful heart constantly…

  2. Knowing and living from your core values is indeed a precious gift. I feel very similar in my own life and loved hearing your eloquent account. You have much to feel good about and you have my utmost respect and love.
    Namaste,
    Mary

Leave a Reply

Discover more from North Country Farms

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading